Shoot For the Moon Challenge 2016 – June Roundup

Standard

Here we are – halfway through the year, already. Though it feels as if we are permanently stuck in April, given the shocking weather. So how am I doing with the targets I set myself back on New Year’s Eve?

• I’m now working on the line edit of Breathing Space. Events like my birthday, the end of the college moonyear at Northbrook and changing over my computer have slowed everything up over the last week and a bit, but overall, I think I’m more or less on track. I now have the covers for all three books – Running Out of Space, Dying for Space and Breathing Space organised, thanks to the wonderful Janet Sked.

During the All Night Write event, I started work on the opening passage of Bloodless, which will be the first book in the Jezel Campo murder mystery series. While it wasn’t my best effort – there was too much going on to really get into my writing zone – it did feel great to actually get back to writing, rather than editing.
Challenge – To have The Sunblinded trilogy published during 2016. Still on target…

• I read 10 books in June and will be reviewing all of them. I have slipped slightly behind on my reviews of NetGalley arcs, as I miscalculated just how long it would take me to read Justin Cronin’s The Passage. It’s a remarkable book, but a really hefty read and I had a whole lot of other things going on. I have read 76 books so far this year and enjoyed most of them.
Challenge – To review a minimum of 100 books during 2016 and widen my reading to include more authors new to me.

I should be able to achieve this target, though it won’t necessarily be with such a wide margin as the numbers might suggest so far. The numbers of books this month I managed to read has fallen and I’m expecting that trend to continue through the summer while I get through the mountain of work I’ve got waiting for me. However, I am really enjoying blogging and interacting with fellow book bloggers.

• I have now completed this year’s Creative Writing classes at Northbrook College, other than a one-day Summer Surgery course on Friday 22nd July. It has been a successful year, with most students continuing to improve and several celebrating successes in competitions.
Challenge – To have at least two of the four courses I hope to run next year planned and written by the end of the summer holiday.

eve-of-war-finalThere are still a couple of my 2016 Shoot for Moon challenges that need serious attention, but I am reasonably pleased with where I am halfway through the year – I just need to sustain my momentum. I was delighted that my short story ‘Miranda’s Tempest’ was published in the anthology Eve of War. I wrote just over 13,000 words on my blog in June and just under 5,500 words on teaching admin, as well as nearly 1,000 words on Bloodless – though a fair chunk of those won’t ever see the light of day!

How about you – how did you get on during June? Are you where you want to be halfway through 2016?

8 responses »

  1. Keep up the good work, Sarah. It amazes me how much you’ve been able to get done so far this year. (Especially with the reading – I’m only on my 30th book of the year!) How much more do you have to go with Breathing Space’s line edits, btw?

  2. Thank you for your kind encouragement, Sara – I really appreciate it:). I’m currently on Chapter 13, so just under halfway through. I’ve got a busy week ahead, with no free day until the week-end, so I probably won’t get the manuscript completed until the middle of the month.

  3. Halfway through the year already… Where did it go?! (well, I know… it went into packing, moving, and settling down…) I like your mothly posts because they remind me that acknowledging progress is really important.
    I keep fingers crossed for your edits and yay for the covers. Will you be sharing them soon? Or not yet? (SNEAK PEAK! SNEAK PEAK PLEASE! 😉 )

    • I know the year is flying by for me – you must be finding it whizzing past at lightspeed, given what an eventful one it has proved to be:). I will be sharing the covers – but after my hiccup last year, I want to be a bit further along before I wind up, ready for the publication. Probably I’m being a bit too low key – but then, I’m in this for the long haul:).

      • I understand :). Showing covers probably creates a bit of a pressure to get the books out before everybody forgets how the covers looked like ;).
        I’ll be waiting patiently then :).

Leave a Reply

