Friday Faceoff – Armed to the Teeth

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer.

This week’s topic is comparing covers featuring weapons – and we’re spoilt for choice… I finally decided on a book I read last year and thoroughly enjoyed – Django Wexler’s The Thousand Names.

Thousand Names.indd

This first cover was published by Roc in July 2013. What strikes me particularly about this book is that both covers are similar in feel and tone – and accurately depict the book. I love the sense of movement and the detail of the backdrop in this particular cover.

 

thethousandnames

This second cover was published by Del Ray for the UK market in July 2013. Again, there is lots of drama and impetus in this cover – but I particularly like the colouring. A lot of military fantasy covers are quite dark and this one stands out with the reddish tones with the bright explosion in the centre. While I like the US cover, this is the one I prefer. What do you think?

17 responses »

  1. I have to go with the Roc / U.S. cover. Both covers are very good, but the U.S. appeals to me more with the cloaked figure’s back turned toward us, and with the weapons used. (I guess I prefer swords over guns…?)

  2. These covers are great – I’ve featured them on my blog a couple of times. I do love the green cover – it’s the stance and the attitude it conveys – plus I love the colours. That being said they’re both good.
    Lynn 😀

    • They are, aren’t they? I really like them both – they are both well designed and beautifully crafted, so I think this time around, it’s down to personal preference:)

  3. I think I like the shading on the US cover, even though ‘guy with swords and a cloak’ is a pretty ‘standard’ fantasy cover.

    On the other hand, ‘knight with a musket’ is different enough that I’m inclined to say ‘hey, what’s this book about?’ But then again, I like gunpowder fantasy.

  4. I like both, but I think I like the first one a bit better: it gives me much more of a fantasy feel while to me, the second gives more of a historical fiction vibe. If I saw the second in a bookstore, I’d probably skim past it.
    But, having your review in mind, I’ve recently picked up a copy anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

