Friday Faceoff – Renewed Shall Be the Blade That Was Broken…

Standard

This meme was started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s topic is comparing covers featuring sharp, pointy things. It was a no-brainer for me. I think The Traitor Son series is a marvellous read – see my review of The Red Knight. For the purposes of the Friday Face-off cover challenge, however, I’ve selected the second book – The Fell Sword.

fell swordThis first cover was published by Gollancz in January 2014 as the hardcover edition. I really love it – the angle of the cover emphasises just how small the armoured man is. It also reflects some of the experiences described so vividly in the book.

 

thefellsword1This second cover is the paperback edition brought out by Orbit in March 2014. I also love this one. The sense of intensity, with the vivid colouring and the fact the knight is in mid-swing gives a power to this particular cover. I’m really torn this week. I think I’ll have to go with this Orbit cover – but it is only by gnat’s eyelash. Do you agree?

14 responses »

  1. I love this series! Hate the US covers though to me there really generic and don’t seem to fit the book whereas I think the classic style UK (Gollancz) covers fit the books tone and are awesome. I’m fairly sure I did a Friday face-off a while ago with the first book in this series, The Red Knight, that US cover was bad, it reeked of genericness, at least this one’s better! 😊

  2. I do love a good book cover. I tend to buy wine because I like the label and books because I like the cover.
    In this case I like the second cover. The first one looks like an after thought.

  3. The UK covers here. Easy! I bought the first two books on a B&N deal a few years back, and later on I ended up seeing the UK editions for all of them, and was so bummed that I had the US edition 😦 LOL They are just so much better!

  4. This is a really tough one – I normally have an outright favourite but this time not so much. I really like the Gollancz – but I think that’s to do with familiarity because I haven’t seen the second cover until now. On balance – I think I’d probably go with the first but I think that’s because I like your comment about the scale of the knight compared to the bird which is absent (obviously) in the second.
    Lynn 😀

    • Yes – I think this week’s offerings are close quality-wise, but very different in approach. I’m finding the differing responses absolutely fascinating. And the issue with the attacking wyvern is a strong one – I always enjoy a cover that references events within the book.

  5. Another series I must read!!! I love those Gollancz covers – their style is very attractive! Totally with Drew on the US cover – they’re not very appealing at all!

    • Oh, if you haven’t yet read this one and you even mildly enjoy epic fantasy, then go and look for it – this is definitely one of my all-time favourite series. So far. It all depends how he chooses to complete the story arc, of course. But each book is a joy to read to date.

  6. I think I like the Gollancz cover better. Something about the Orbit cover isn’t easy on the eyes… maybe it’s the color contrasts. And I like the eagle(?) on the Gollancz verson.

    • This particular pair of covers has certainly split opinion… But I do think they are both great. I think the creature is a wyvern – they attack knights in the book.

Leave a Reply

