Weekly Wrap-Up – 8th May

Standard

Weekly Wrapup

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written. It’s been another madly busy week. My mother and sister came down to visit on Thursday and I was out in the evening with my friend Paula – we’re starting to think about a new course we want to run together at Northbrook next year for anyone wanting to write a novel. Yesterday we were out in Brighton, celebrating my son’s 30th birthday. It was a lovely get-together, rounding off a great week when the sun finally started to shine.

Therefore I’ve only read two books this week:

Central Station by Lavie Tidharcentralstation
This hard sci fi book gives us a slice of far future life in Central Station. In multiple pov, Tidhar weaves a beautiful, imaginative tale of the concerns and passions of these posthumans. It is an accomplished, thought provoking read by a very talented writer. It is due to be released this coming week, so I will be reviewing it in due course.

 

theflooddragonThe Flood Dragon’s Sacrifice – Book 1 of the Tide Dragons series by Sarah Ash
I was a fan of Ash’s writing back in the 1990’s, so when I saw this offering on Amazon I snapped it up, hoping she was still as talented a storyteller. She is. This is a cracking tale, set in a version of Japan, when the country was at the height of its isolationist policy. I love the fact that the main protagonists are on both sides of the feud, giving us a ringside seat to the clan war that is tearing apart the ruling class. I will be shortly reviewing the book.

I have also started editing Breathing Space, though with it being another busy week, I haven’t got as far as I’d hoped.

My posts last week:
Weekly Wrap-Up – 1st May

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Outriders – Book 1 of the Outriders series by Jay Posey

Teaser Tuesday – Central Station by Lavie Tidhar

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of The End of the World Running Club by Adrian J. Walker

*NEW RELEASE SPECIAL* Review of Queen of Hearts – Book 1 of the Queen of Hearts series by Colleen Oakes

Friday Faceoff – You Got the Blues featuring Space Hostages by Sophia McDougall

Shoot for the Moon Challenge – April roundup

I hope everyone has a great reading and blogging week and you, too, are getting/enjoying the sudden burst of warm, sunny weather we are currently experiencing. Hard to believe that this time last week, we were enduring snow showers…

16 responses »

    • Thank you Laurel! It was lovely getting the family together and it is always a bonus having my son to stay as I never get to see enough of him. Have a great week.

    • Thank you for swinging by – it’s been a really busy fortnight familywise, but in a good way:) Nice that the weather has suddenly improved, too. I really enjoyed ‘Central Station’ – and ‘The Flood Dragon’s Sacrifice’ was a fabulous read, too. Have a great week and fingers crossed for the appointments.

  1. Glad to hear you got some sun, it was nice here too this week (finally)! The sun is very welcome after an extended absence! Congratulations on your son’s birthday.

    I like the look of Central Station, I saw the cover on a sci fi blog somewhere and thought it looked quite nice. I am a sucker for good sci fi cover art. 🙂 Sounds like a nice read.

    • Oh me too – a good spacescape snags me every time! I thoroughly enjoyed it – well written science fiction is my first love and this is very well done. I’ll be reviewing it in a few days.

  2. It sounds like you had a good week, Sarah. Busy, but all for good reasons. Glad to hear your weather is improving, too. Ours should hopefully be getting warmer and nicer this week, according to the weather forecasts. It’s been so damp and dreary lately!

    • So sorry to hear that it’s still been dreary – we’re due for it to cool down a bit this week – but at least we’ve had a splash of sunshine and finally the winter seems to have gone:). It’s been a great fortnight with all the family events going on…

  3. It sounds like you had some fabulous family time this week. I’ll try to send some sunshine your way. It’s been around 80 with skies so clear and blue I wish I could paint it!

    My Sunday Post

  4. Ooh, I just read a book set in Brighton lol. Never been there myself though. You may not have gotten a ton of reading done, but it sounds like you still had a great week anyway, and with great weather to boot 🙂

  5. It did sound like you had a busy week! Happy belated birthday to your son!

    I am glad you enjoyed The Flood Dragon’s Sacrifice. It does sound good. I haven’t tried her work before. I recently listened to a science fiction novel and enjoyed it quite a bit. Central Station appeals to me as well.

    I hope you have a great week!

    • Thank you! I have to say, the thought of Robbie being 30 is a bit of a shock… where does the Time go? It’s been a fantastic reading year, so far – and I’m always delighted if anyone is willing to give sci fi a go:).

Leave a Reply

