Shoot for the Moon Challenge 2016 – April Roundup

Standard

moon

Now April has zipped past and we are a third of the way through the year, how am I doing with my writing and publishing targets that I concocted on New Year’s Eve when all right-thinking folks were partying?

• I’ve been working on the first major edit of Breathing Space since I completed it last year, and in addition to the earlier fixes, I ended up doing a major rewrite of the final battle scene, as I wasn’t all that happy about it. There was a long build-up, and the final action scene was too short and not sufficiently satisfying. I’ve also completed reading Running Out of Space on my Kindle and after going back and tweaking the final manuscript with the niggling errors I discovered, I’ll be working on Breathing Space once more. Dying for Space is currently with a beta-reader, so I’m waiting for her feedback, before embarking on the final line edit.
Challenge – To have The Sunblinded trilogy published during 2016. The editing run is still rolling forward and I still feel reasonably confident I’ll get them published this year.

• I had a lovely surprise this month – I submitted a short story for the anthology Eve of War and then forgot about it – as you do. So when a request for my biography and a copy of the arc bounced into my Inbox, I was delighted. The anthology is being published in June, which is great.
Challenge – nope. Nothing about this particular project was on my to-do list – because I’d forgotten about it.

• I read 17 books, did not finish one and wrote 16 reviews during April. So it’s been another storming month with my reading challenges. I wrote seven New Release Special reviews during March, although some of these won’t be published until the launch date of the books in question.
Challenge – To review a minimum of 100 books during 2016 and widen my reading to include more authors new to me. So far this year, I have read 53 books and 10 books during April by authors I haven’t read before, so I am also hitting this particular target. I’m very much in reading mode at present, but if I hit a slump or get buried in all the chores that go with self-publishing The Sunblinded trilogy, it could all slide away.

I’m very pleased with my blogging and reading targets, as I produced a blog every day, except one, when I was away. During April, I wrote just over 13,000 words on blogs and just under 11,000 words on teaching admin. Again, novel writing is non-existent at present, so my wordcount on writing projects is a measly 1,500 words, which brings April’s total to just over 25,500 words. Am I on target? Yes. But there is a long way to go and lots that could still go wrong, so I’m not able to relax just yet. In fact, I think this is going to be a year when I continue to put my head down, keep working and hoping for the best… Wish me luck, I’ll need it!

7 responses »

  1. Well, you’ve been very busy, Sarah, so I wouldn’t look at the lack of creative writing as a bad thing. Sometimes we have to focus more on one aspect of the writing process than others. Then again, I’ve never been good at juggling multiple big writing projects, so I applaud you for doing what you have so far!

    That’s fantastic news about the short story! What is it called?

    • Confusingly, it’s called ‘Miranda’s Tempest’… I wrote the short story quite a while ago, but the idea wouldn’t leave me in peace until I sat down and wrote the novel. Though the two are very different in tone and setting.

      • That’s really interesting. So the same idea first sparked a short story, then a novel? (And that’s the novel you’re currently submitting to agents, right?)

      • Yes! I’ve another couple of other novels waiting to be written that have grown out of short stories where the idea has taken hold and just won’t let go.

    • Thank you for your good wishes and kind words of encouragement. It is a big undertaking… At least one of the books is now ready to go, which means I can focus on the other two. I am starting to feel a bit twitchy, not having written anything much creatively since last year. But the editing is every bit as important as getting down the first draft…

  2. Well done on reaching your goals and congratulations on the anthology! 🙂 I’m still positively stunned by the amount of books you read.

    • Thank you:). The anthology was a delightful surprise – as for the reading… I think it’s because other than the paperwork and reviews, I’m not writing anything which is generally my main escape from Life – so my reading has nocked up a notch or three… And I have to say – NetGalley is fast becoming a vice!

Leave a Reply

