Friday Faceoff – You Got the Blues

Standard

This is a new meme started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s topic is to find two eye-catching covers which are predominantly blue. And this one jumped into my mind…

I’m bending the rules, somewhat (again!) as both covers this week are British – this first one is the original by Egmont, who published the book last year. I like the fact it has a strong relationship with the first book in the series, the awesome, Mars Evacuees, as well as directly relating to characters in the book. The slightly blocky collage effect somehow reflects the humour that runs through both books in this outstanding series.

 

spacehostages

And yet… I also like this latest iteration of Space Hostages published this year by HarperCollins. It is far more polished, and still features the main characters during the defining, dramatic moment around which the whole plot is created. And this time around – I cannot decide. I love them both… Perhaps because I am completely besotted with the book as one of my favourite reads of the year, so far.

spacehostages1

So, I’m going to have to rely on you folks to decide – which do you think is the best cover? And if you haven’t yet read it – get hold of a copy. Grab a child to read it to, or just do your inner child a favour. Some books are just too good to leave in the Children’s section – why should they have all the fun?

7 responses »

  1. Not to worry – I frequently break my own rules! 😛 Both these covers are fantastic but I love that Egmont cover with the blocky collage. It’s wonderful!! Definitely my favourite this week. I’ll most certainly have to release my inner child and check this one out! 😀

    • Thank you – I think it’s still my favourite, but I love the new shiny version, too. If you do decide to track this one down, you won’t regret it! It’s not a long read, but so much fun. However, I’d start with ‘Mars Evacuees’ if you do. I’d love to hear your feedback about it:).

  2. I prefer the Harpercollins cover. It grabs my attention because it seems so random. I immediately assume that there’s a goldfish and an octopus in space…how can that be?

    • Ah… they are both major characters. In both books:) If you look at the Egmont cover, you’ll see the goldfish also features in that one, too. Thank you for taking the time to comment – I’m still swithering between the two…

Leave a Reply

