Friday Faceoff – Like One, That on a Lonesome Road

Standard

This is a new meme started by Books by Proxy, whose fabulous idea was to compare UK and US book covers and decide which is we prefer. This week’s topic is to find two eyecatching covers featuring a road.  This book seemed the obvious choice…

 midnightcrossroaduk

 This haunting UK cover of Midnight Crossroad was produced by Gollancz when the book was published in 2014. I’d enjoyed the Sukie Stackhouse series and pounced on this offering with joy, when I realised I could lose myself in yet another Harris world. While it does give a sense of the book, Midnight Crossroad is not quite as dark and creepy as the cover suggests.

 midnightcrossroadus


The US version was produced by Ace, also published in 2014. While it doesn’t have quite the intensity and power of the UK cover, it does communicate the quirky sense that something isn’t quite right about this roadside settlement.

            This week, I’m really torn. I love the arresting image and sense of menace of the UK cover – and it’s the one I associate with the book. But I think in many ways, the slightly skewed perspective of the US version better represents the book… Nope – I think the UK cover just edges it for me. What about you?

 

 

 

10 responses »

  1. I’m with you there – this one is a difficult choice! I do like the atmosphere and colour scheme of the UK cover but that quirky skewed perspective is really quite intriguing! Hmmm…. I think the UK cover just edges it for me too – I think I’d be more drawn to it in a bookshop.

  2. The UK cover does have a creepy feel to it but I prefer the US cover because it’s odd. Everything is zooming to a point and it’s a little dizzying. I like that.

Leave a Reply

