Weekly Wrap-Up – 17th April 2016

Standard

Fritillary & bee on rudbeckia1

This is part of the weekly meme over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, where book bloggers can share the books and blogs they have written.
This week I only read two books, which I’ll be reviewing when they are due to be published as they are both NetGalley arcs. For the rest, I have been up to my neck in paperwork, preparing for my summer term Creative Writing course, which seems to have come around insanely fast.

I also held a Filking Workshop at West Sussex Writers on Thursday evening, which also took some preparation and organisation. I’ve never done one of those before – but everyone responded brilliantly and we had a really enjoyable evening, ending up with a singsong.

The books I read were:

 

brightblazeofmagicBright Blaze of Magic – Book 3 of the Black Blades series by Jennifer Estap
This adventure fantasy is a swords and sorcery fully of incident, featuring a smart heroine who is capable of taking care of herself. This deftly written story is brimming with strong characters and interesting monsters. I’ll be posting a review on or about 26th April, which it is due to be published.

 

The End of the World Running Club by Adrian J. Walkerendoftheworldrunningclub
This apocalyptic road tale is set in Edinburgh. Ed, the protagonist, is overweight, under-exercised and wearily cynical. He drinks too much and doesn’t spend enough quality time with his small daughter and baby son. And then the world ends – and he is in the position of having to fight for them. I’ll be reviewing this one at the beginning of May, when the book is published.

My posts last week were:-
Weekly Wrap-Up – 10th April

Shoot for the Moon Challenge 2016 – March Roundup

Teaser Tuesday – Bright Blaze of Magic – Book 3 of the Black Blades series by Jennifer Estap

Review of Deceptions – Book 3 of the Cainsville series by Kelley Armstrong

Review of Beaver Towers – Book 1 of the Beaver Towers series by Nigel Hinton

Friday Faceoff – UK vs US books covers of The Forever Watch by David Ramirez – see my review here

Review of Cinder – Book 1 of the Luna Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer

I’m hoping to be able to get back to my editing schedule this coming week for The Sunblinded trilgoy. In the meantime, many thanks for everyone who has visited and commented on my posts – I really appreciate it. Have a great week.

18 responses »

  1. I am curious about The End of the World Running Club…but don’t usually enjoy books with impending disasters…LOL. Too scary and realistic. I hope you enjoy it, though, and thanks for sharing.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. The doll I featured is from the Alice in Wonderland series, and I got it from Amazon Vine. Usually I only select books from their catalogue, but since I collect dolls and other fairytale figurines, I was pleased to add something playful.

    • It was a bit grim – I don’t generally read apocalyptic sci fi, but the title intrigued me and I thought I’d have a go… It’s very well written, but if you dislike realistic catastrophes then this one isn’t for you:). Your Alice did look very pretty – my granddaughter has a collection of some 68 Bratz dolls and I thought it looked familiar – it certainly adds a nice touch.

  2. The End of the World Running Club certainly sounds intriguing! I’ll definitely look out for your review. It looks like you’ve had quite the busy week so best of luck with all that paperwork! I’m definitely intrigued by your filking workshop – sounds like fun!

  3. I’ve heard of filking and heard it described as part of conventions but never actually in person. Interesting! And I think The end of the World Running Club does sound good, I like books like that and it looks promising.

    The Forever Watch caught my eye too with your book cover comparison post. I’ll have to look into that one!

    • Hi Greg, thank you for swinging by:). Filking is when conference attendees present different words to tunes, often as a form of fan fic for their favourite books/TV series & originated in the 1950s at a conference as a misprint instead of the word ‘folking’. The term stuck and I nicked it, because it sounds a whole lot catchier than ‘Let’s spend an evening writing different words to published tunes’…
      Oh yes – if you like your sci fi apocalyptic, then The End of the World Running Club is definitely worth checking out. And The Forever Watch is one of the most memorable, chilling generational ship adventures I’ve ever read…

    • Filking is when you write a different set of words to already published songs – the term originated in the 1950s, apparently at a US sci fi conference as a misprint, which SHOULD have read as folking, but it stuck when the conference-goers decided they preferred it. I have slightly appropriated it, as while it can encompass paraody, more often the words do reflect the emotional feel of the original song. And last Thursday the emphasis was definitely on parody:).

  4. I STILL need to read Jennifer Estep but I own, I think, a few of her books. Books just get so lost on my Kindle… it’s sad 😦

    Good luck on your summer writing course! It sounds like fun, actually. I’m sort of addicted to learning and e-courses at the moment.

    • Oh it’s great fun:). I’m blessed to have a bunch of lovely enthusiastic students who write a wide range of different forms, both fiction and non-fiction, poetry and prose.

    • I know what you mean about books getting lost on your Kindle! I’m trying to get organised with my reading, but if it inspires you to go hunting for it, the Black Blades series is well worth looking for…:)

  5. I am glad the Filking Workshop went so well! I so rarely see mention of Filking, that I always get a little excited when I see someone mention it. 🙂 I “discovered” it a few years ago when I was binging on Mercedes Lackey novels. I got a few of her CD’s and fell in love. I look forward to reading your review of Bright Blaze of Magic and he End of the World Running Club. They both sound good–I hope you enjoyed them. Take care and have a great week!

    • Thank you so much, Wendy – how kind of you! It was designed to be a bit of fun after a long, gloomy winter left everyone feeling a bit low and wrung out. I haven’t encountered Mercedes Lackey’s CDs – it looks like something I need to track down!
      Yes, both books are definitely worth reading for quite different reasons.

Leave a Reply

