Teaser Tuesday – 12th April 2016

Standard

Teaser

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jenn of Books and a Beat.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This is my choice of the day:
Bright Blaze of Magic – Book 3 of the Black Blade series by Jennifer Estepbrightblazeofmagic
1%: Felix gave me a mulish look and started to cross his arms over his chest – until he realized that he was still holding on to his sword, the one he’d been swinging around like a machete for the past twenty minutes. He glared at me, but he finally slid the weapon into the scabbard belted to his waist. Well, that would cut down on some of the noise. Now, if I just had some duct tape for his mouth…

BLURB: As a thief, I’m good at three things: hiding in the shadows, getting in and out unseen, and uncovering secrets. I put these skills to work for the Sinclair Family, one of the magical mobs that run the tourist town of Cloudburst Falls.

Everyone knows Victor Draconi wants to take over all the other Families–and kill every last Sinclair. What they don’t know is that I’m on to him, and no way will I let the man who murdered my mom get away with hurting all the other people I care about. Especially when I’ve got places to break into, stuff to steal, and Devon Sinclair fighting right by my side…

Obviously, it’s early days yet, but the story is swinging along at a nice clip and I always enjoy a first person narrative. I’ll be reviewing this book on or near 26th April, when it’s due to be published.

22 responses »

    • Yes – I finished it last night and it was GREAT fun. The end of a trilogy – and I haven’t read the first two, but nevertheless, I easily picked up what was going on and really cared for the protagonist. Estap is clearly an accomplished writer.

  1. Haha! Love the teaser. This sounds like a good one. I haven’t tried Estep yet, but I would like to someday.

    • I’ve really enjoyed this one. Having crashed into the series at Book 3, I haven’t really played fair – but it read very well and I certainly would like to get hold of more of her work. She clearly knows what she’s doing.

    • I’ve done my usual trick of plunging bang into the middle/end of a series, I’m afraid… That said, at no stage was I left floundering or having to wade through a lot of backstory. Estap is clearly an experienced, accomplished author.

  2. Hi Sarah,

    Thank you for stopping by Fiction Books for the first time this week. I enjoy meeting new people and always look forward to reading comments 🙂

    Whilst not from one of my favourite genres, the cover art of your book choice this week is very eye-catching and the lines you feature certainly had me smiling, especially when she decides that duct tape is needed for Felix’s mouth! Mind you that sword might have shut him up more quickly, if he had gone ahead and folded his arms 🙂

    I see that you have already finished reading and was pleased to note that, like myself, you don’t always start a series from the beginning. I hope that ‘Bright Blaze Of Magic’ worked well for you as a stand alone.

    Yvonne

    • Oh it really did! It’s a really bad habit of mine – crashing mid-way into series, and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. This time around, Estap is clearly a technically accomplished writer who is up to the task of ensuring awkward readers like me don’t lose out too much on enjoying her work:).

Leave a Reply

