The Pitfulls and Perils of Being a Reader

Standard
The Pitfulls and Perils of Being a Reader

I thoroughly enjoyed Lizzie’s amusing article about the risk of being an avid reader – so thought I’d share with you.

mylittlebookblog

Readers be warned; reading is a dangerous hobby. Yes, you read right, forget base jumping, sky diving and go karting reading is a hobby riddled with potential wobbles, trials and tribulations. Don’t raise an eye brow at me, there are many quibbles that come with being a reader. If you’re still a little confused read on.

(Although I must admit base-jumping, sky diving and go karting are all very dangerous and potential life threatening activities: Be careful out there)

Looking up what you’re currently reading on Goodreads/Twitter/Facebook

*SPOILERS* are alllll over the internet, don’t be fooled into thinking that you can just avoid said spoilers by avoiding certain hashtags or not searching for the book you’re currently reading. Stay away, turn off your phone and stick your head in that book; everything will be okay. I think.

Getting too many books out from the library

Afajgajhjah library fines get me…

View original post 502 more words

4 responses »

    • *sigh* I know… Though we now try and organise our library account online and they HAVE lessened a bit. Though the amount we spend on books we specially order is a tad eye-watering! Thank you for sharing your pain:).

  1. I totally agree about the Goodreads spoilers thing but I can’t help it. I used to go into wikis of some of the big series in my impatience to look up the characters and got all kinds of spoilers. Goodreads isn’t as bad and most people put spoiler warnings.
    Btw I nominated you for a Lovely Blog Award 🙂

  2. Thank you so much Leona for the Award:)). That’s so very kind of you! I WILL get around to replying to it… Right now I’m on the verge of self publishing my book, so I don’t really have enough hours in the day…

    Actually, I think Goodreads reviews are fairly good about spoiler warnings – the reviews that disgust me with their insistence on telling ALL are those in The Guardian and The Telegraph, which I now refuse to read as a point of principle. Wiki, of course, does spill all the beans, but then I think that’s the point of those articles – telling the story for folks who want to know, but don’t necessarily want to read.

Leave a Reply

