Book hangovers, that awful moment when you realise all of your new friends don’t really exist 😭

Standard
Book hangovers, that awful moment when you realise all of your new friends don’t really exist 😭

I read this article several days ago – and I find I keep coming back to it. Partly because I thought I was the only one to experience this sense of LOSS about favourite books… So I thought I’d share it with you. Does anyone else feel like this?

susannevalenti

You’ve all been there, you finish a book (or even worse complete a series) just to be spat back out into the real world without so much as a farewell.

There’s something dreadfully final about completing a journey through a piece fiction that no amount of re-reading can cure.

You miss your fictional family! Sure, they’re all still there, living their adventures between the pages but where are you? On your way to school or work, talking to your friends and families about trite things like what’s for dinner or who’s used the last sheet of toilet paper.

‘No!’ Screams your subconscious. ‘I was saving the world this morning and falling in love last night!’ Where’s the justice? Where’s the closure? And why doesn’t anyone understand that you can’t unload the dishwasher because the whole world just ended!

For all you fellow book hangover sufferers I want you to know…

View original post 153 more words

3 responses »

  1. Oh gosh yes! The last really bad book hangover I had was at the end of “Guns of The Dawn” by Adrian Tchaikovsky, and I had to hug the book and cry and go on Twitter to vent my grief that it was over, only to find half-a-dozen of my friends going through the EXACT same crisis….

Leave a Reply

