POEM – Hateful Possessions (1)

Standard

I’m a bad mood mug.

The clay that made me
came from a pool where
a cow was stuck fast,
mooing till she died.

My shade of green
gives tea and coffee
a bilious hue.
My handle crushes
fingers, pinching hands,
and slopping hot drinks.

When your best friend gave
me to you as a
random present,
you wondered –
for the first time –
Does she really like me?

I bounce when I’m dropped.
There’s a scratch on the tap
where you tried to crack me.
When I’m in the dishwasher,
something else gets chipped.
And yet,
you dare not throw me away.

So I squat in the
corner of the cupboard,
toad-like and repellent.
Until…
your mother-in-law
comes to stay.

badmoodmug

4 responses »

    • Thank you Sara:). I actually had a putrid green mug that crushed my fingers, was too heavy and made the tea look revolting… And yet because it wasn’t broken I couldn’t bring myself to throw it out. Since I wrote the poem it has been broken – yay! Not by me! And of course, I DIDN’T keep it for my mother-in-law – she is far too nice to deserve such treatment!

      • LOL! It’s incredible where we get some of our writing ideas, though, isn’t it? Sometimes the inspiration comes from a totally unexpected place or object.

Leave a Reply

