Susan Howatch- a writer to get addicted to

Standard

After reading Viv’s wonderful review about the writing of one of my all-time favourite authors, Susan Howatch, I immediately wanted to share with you…

Zen and the Art of Tightrope Walking

 

You don’t hear much about Susan Howatch   these last few years and I think it’s a shame. If you love a book or a series of books to really get your teeth into, you can’t do better than discover this author.

I first came across her books when I was an undergraduate and my flatmate loaned me The Rich are Different, Sins of the Fathers and a few others. I enjoyed them a great deal, even though I am not especially fond of historical or period fiction.

The next time I crossed paths with Ms Howatch was when my husband was at theological college and I was undergoing something of a protracted breakdown of sorts. Her Starbridge series of novels gave me some relief from the emotional anguish I was in, partly due to the novels being about the very structure(the Church of England) I was battling to…

View original post 1,094 more words

Leave a Reply

