POEM – Desertification

Standard

Being lonely is one of the most desolate experiences of all. Especially when alongside somone who should be looking out for you…

Burning wasteland of parched sand
shivers under the sun-scoured sky.
Eyes bleed useless tears looking
for help – no one ever comes here.

Just when the aching emptiness is
vast enough to swallow dust storms,
an oasis of Love blooms on the horizon…
miraculous pool shaded by lush bushes.

You run towards it, maddened by
the moist promise of tenderness…
It shimmers – a lover’s breath away from
your embrace.
And then blinks out.

desert

Image from wikipedia.com

 

 

6 responses »

  1. This might be my favorite poem of yours so far, Sarah. The language is gorgeous, and the images convey your message perfectly. And it’s so succinct, too. You say everything you need to say and capture the necessary emotions in three short stanzas. Well done. 🙂

    If you don’t mind me asking, what inspired you to write this piece?

    Btw, I should have comments for Running Out Of Space back to you next week. My method makes me lean toward the slower side; I like to print out a copy and make notes, then type up the notes once I’m finished. I hope I’m not holding you up as a result…

  2. Many thanks for your kind comments, Sara:). Sadly, it’s based on personal experience – I was unhappily married in a prior, far more miserable life. I don’t claim to be a particularly good poet, but I do enjoy writing them and I find that attempting to craft something halfway passable sharpens up my prose no end.

    Thank you so much for going to so much trouble over Running Out of Space – I REALLY appreciate it! No, you’re not holding me up at all. I’ve been buried with work, so haven’t progressed the editing stage of Dying for Space anything like as fast as I’d have liked…

    • 😦 Sadness can be a good source of inspiration. (As depressing as that may sound…) I wrote a poem called “At A Loss” about a toxic friendship that I needed to let go of. Writing the poem was easier than saying goodbye, though. It’s a very long story… but in a nutshell, I still felt bad about it. But no good was going to come out of things regardless of whether we stayed friends. I don’t regret my decision now, but sometimes I wonder how she’s doing or whether she would have pulled through eventually… :/

      But I digress. I know the feeling, based on a very different situation that inspired me. And yes, both reading and writing poetry can be hugely beneficial to novel-writing. It teaches us concision and wordplay, among other things. Keep up the good work!

      Things don’t always go accordingly to plan when we work on novels, don’t they? I was hoping to have TKC fully revised by sometime in August. I’m not even 20% through the revisions I was to make yet… So, what was I thinking? *lol*

      Are you still shooting for an end-of-summer release for Running Out of Space?

      • It’s a sad fact, isn’t it? I do find writing very therapeutic, though I don’t need that side of it quite so much as I did, thank goodness! I’m glad you were also able to use your writing to work out your unresolved feelings regarding your relationship. I think you did the right thing – some folks are such emotional vampires and often batten onto people with plenty of creativity…

        Yes, I am still hoping to have Running Out of Space ready for August – so long as the beta readers don’t come back with a shedload of alterations I need to do!

      • “I do find writing very therapeutic, though I don’t need that side of it quite so much as I did…”

        ^^ That’s very good to hear. 🙂

        If you don’t mind me sharing a bit about friends’ experiences with self-publishing…? Two in particular were forced to push back their original release dates for their books by 2 or 3 months due to delays. Some were related to editing and proofreading; others were layout, cover design, etc. One also had some bizarre issues with Amazon. Apparently a line of scarves – of all things – had already been tagged with her ISBN number. Scarves aren’t supposed to have ISBN numbers, though. :S That battle alone took her a week or two to sort out.

        I guess what I’m trying to say is… (and I say this without knowing if you have a cover design or anyone lined up to help with other aspects of self-publishing)… If you can still get Running Out of Space out in August, that’s fantastic. But don’t get yourself down if it has to be pushed back for any reason. We never know when we might run into delays in any major project (writing, house renovations, etc.).

        And I say all this not because I want to be mean or condescending in any way. (That’s the last thing I want to do.) I say it because I just want to make sure you’re informed. I have no doubts that you’ve done your homework about self-publishing; I just wanted to share what I’ve observed from the experience of other writers who have done the same, that’s all.

  3. Thank you for your concern, Sara. My publication date isn’t written in stone – but I wanted to give myself a deadline. If it turns out to be ridiculously optimistic, I certainly won’t be compromising the quality of the book in any way and will happily push back my publication date. Ideally, I’ll have at least one of the books ready in time for Fantasycon – but again, I’m not going to cut any corners.

Leave a Reply

