Something Wicked This Way Comes (1962) by Ray Bradbury

Standard

It’s that time of the year… and this collection of Ray Bradbury’s was one I read years ago and has lodged in the back of my brain ever since… Thank you for the reminder!

From couch to moon

Something_wicked_this_way_comes_first“He stared at fathoms of reflections. You could never strike bottom there. It was like winter standing tall, waiting to kill you with a glance” (p. 62).

“Stay away from the maze where winter slept” (p. 122).

Has anyone ever finished a mirror maze? I have not. Not out of some existential fear like Bradbury suggests. Just the fear of banging my nose on a pane of bendy glass is enough to prevent me from venturing further than a few feet inside, arms outstretched, before I back up and scurry out the entrance. And, yes, I’ve had to be rescued at least once.

Something Wicked This Way Comes is a mirror maze of another kind, the existential kind, although it’s accompanied by some of the same appeal and angst. It recollects our pasts, that famous Bradburian nostalgia, and we see ourselves and our loved ones in his contemplative meditations. Like…

View original post 706 more words

2 responses »

  1. I came across Ray Bradbury’s books in my teens – and he was crucial in defining much of my reading taste. And is probably the reason why I regard many mainstream books as rather tame and ordinary…

Leave a Reply

